Zen practice at the Falaise Verte Zen Centre follows the tradition of the Rinzai School of Japanese Zen Buddhism.


India

Zen tradition dates back to the historical Buddha, Siddhārtha Gautama, also known as Shākyamuni.

Shākyamuni was born in Nepal around 2 500 years ago.
Zen transmission starts with Mahākāśyapa, which is then followed by a succession of 27 Indian arhats.

‘I have the true Dharma eye, the wondrous spirit of Nirvana, the true formless form, the subtle Dharma door that does not hinge on words or letters but is a spiritual transmission outside scriptural tradition. All this I entrust to Mahākāśyapa.’
Shākyamuni Buddha

China

Even though Buddhism had been established in China as early as 1st C A.D., Boddhidharma, an Indian or Persian monk, 28th in a transmission line going back to the historical Buddha, travelled to northern China in the 5th or 6th C. He introduced a form of Buddhism emphasizing meditation training and realizing one’s true nature rather than engaging in scholarship or abiding by the precepts of Buddhism. He is regarded as the first patriarch of the Dhyāna branch of Buddhism, later to become Ch’an in China and Zen in Japan.

‘A special transmission outside scriptures
No reliance on words or letters
To point directly to the heart and mind of man
To see one’s own nature and become a Buddha’
Boddhidharma

Ch’an flourished in China and was divided into 5 schools, including the Rinzai school [Linji in Chinese], which was named in the 9th C. after its founder, 10 generations after Boddhidharma. His style was purposefully direct and unorthodox.

‘The only thing you have to do is behave most ordinarily. Leave behind your affectations. I am telling you: there is no Buddha, no Law, no practice to work on, no benefit to obtain’
Rinzai

Japan

While Buddhism in Japan dates back from the 6th C. onwards, Zen only came to Japan at the end of the 12th C.. At the beginning of the 18th C., through the efforts of the great Zen master Hakuin, the Rinzai school became accessible to all.

‘I want you all to be aware that Zen practice can bring about a miraculous transformation that can change you down to the marrow of your bones.’
Hakuin

Today there are 14 branches within the Japanese Rinzai school. The Falaise Verte Centre belongs to its main branch in terms of the number of temples, the Myôshin-ji branch, named after its head monastery in Kyôto, which was founded in 1342 by the Japanese Zen master Kanzan Egen.

La pratique au Centre Zen de la Falaise Verte se déroule dans le respect de la tradition de l’école Rinzai du Bouddhisme Zen japonais.


Inde

La tradition zen remonte au Bouddha historique, Siddhārtha Gautama, appelé aussi Shākyamuni, au Népal il y a environ 2500 ans.
La transmission débute par Mahākāśyapa qui sera suivi par 27 arhats indiens.

« Je possède l’œil vrai du Dharma, l’esprit merveilleux du Nirvana, la vraie forme sans forme, la porte subtile du Dharma qui ne s’appuie ni sur les mots ni les lettres mais est une transmission spéciale en dehors des écritures. Cela, je le confie à Mahākāśyapa . »
Bouddha Shākyamuni

 

Chine

Le Bouddhisme s’implante en Chine dès le 1er siècle, mais c’est au 5ème ou 6ème siècle qu’un moine indien ou perse, Bodhidharma, 28ème après le Bouddha historique, voyage jusqu’en Chine du Nord et y introduit une forme de Bouddhisme prônant la pratique et la réalisation de sa nature propre plutôt que l’érudition ou le respect des préceptes. Il est considéré comme le premier patriarche de la branche Dhyāna du Bouddhisme qui deviendra le Ch’an chinois et le Zen japonais.

« Une transmission spéciale en dehors des écritures
Aucune dépendance à l’égard des mots et des lettres
Pointer directement au cœur-esprit de l’homme
Voir sa nature et devenir Bouddha »
Boddhidharma

Le Ch’an se développe en Chine et se scinde en 5 écoles dont l’école Rinzai (Linji en chinois) du nom de son fondateur, au 9ème siècle, 10 générations après Bodhidharma. Son style est délibérément direct et iconoclaste.

« Tout ce qu’il vous faut c’est vous comporter le plus ordinairement du monde. Pas tant de manières ! Je vous le dis : il n’y a pas de Buddha, il n’y a pas de Loi ; pas de pratique à cultiver, pas de fruit à éprouver. »
Rinzai

Japon

Alors que la présence du Bouddhisme au Japon date du 6ème siècle, le Zen n’y est introduit qu’à la fin du 12ème siècle. Et c’est au début du 18ème avec le grand maître zen Hakuin que l’école Rinzai devient accessible à tous.

« Je veux que vous soyez tous conscients que la pratique du Zen peut entraîner une transformation miraculeuse qui vous changera jusqu’à la moelle de vos os. »
Hakuin

Il existe aujourd’hui 14 branches de l’école Rinzai japonaise. Le Centre de la Falaise Verte appartient à la plus importante d’entre elles par le nombre de temples : la Branche Myôshin-ji, du nom de sa maison mère à Kyôto, fondée par le maître zen japonais Kanzan Egen en 1342 et dont sera issu Hakuin.